Living a Gluten Free, Dairy Free & Vegan Diet

When you tell people your diet is gluten free, dairy free, or vegan, you usually get an eye roll and a comment like, “Oh whatever, just eat it…”. 

Today so many people are choosing to cut these food categories out of their diet for dieting, medical, and personal reasons that it has become an annoying aspect for people who have not chosen to go in this health direction. So to all of you out there that think this is annoying, let us tell you what goes on internally & externally when we do eat these foods, and trust me, if we could consume all the gluten and dairy in the world, we would!

Andrea: Eating gluten & dairy makes me get so bloated that I become at times uncomfortable even in yoga pants. My stomach hurts so bad that I have to curl up in a ball and just pray that it will soon be over. I break out, I get really bad stomach acid and I am so tired all the time that it’s impossible to do anything. It took me awhile for me to really realize that I need to cut these food groups out of my diet. Trust me, it is hard! But the way I feel when I don’t have gluten or dairy is amazing and 100% worth it.

Whitney:  Four years ago, I changed my diet to exclude gluten and dairy. I was wrongly prescribed depression medication for the following symptoms for several years before making the dietary switch; daily severe head aches and stomach pains, ulcers, kidney infections, cystic acne, achy joints and muscles that kept me awake at night, brain fog, lack of focus, extreme fatigue, weak immune system, mood swings, occasional fainting, seasonal allergies..I could go on. I had to take a year off school because I was struggling so much. After some research and trial and error, I began the gluten-free, dairy-free life and guess what? EVERY ONE OF THESE SYMPTOMS GONE! No medication needed.  This past year I also went vegan for a lifestyle change and feel even better and more energetic.

We hope this makes a little more sense of why people like us have chosen to go in this health direction and how it can benefit your life if you do find yourself having these symptoms.

Here are some of our favorite dinner recipes we highly recommend:
Chicken Marsala by the very talented Sheena over at: http://www.teabiscuit.org/
This easy Gluten Free Chicken Marsala recipe is made in one pan in less than thirty mins! You can make it Paleo too, nice served with pasta or mashed potatoes.
http://www.teabiscuit.org/gluten-free-chicken-marsala-paleo/
PM-Gluten-Free-Chicken-Marsala-Paleo-1-of-1-3.jpg

 

These Gluten Free/Vegan Black Bean Burgers are amazing! I put mine on gluten free rosemary and thyme bread and add spinach, sautéed onions, avocado and vegan mayo and serve spiced sweet potato fries on the side.
Servings: 4
Prep Time: 10 minutes
Total Time;: 25 minutes
Ingredients
  • 15 ounces canned black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 2 tablespoon ketchup
  • 1 tablespoon dijon mustard
  • 1 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1 teaspoon onion powder
  • 1/3 cup oats
Directions
Prep: 1. Drain and rinse black beans. Make: 1. Preheat oven to 400F. 2. Grease a cookie sheet or line with parchment paper and set aside. 3. In a mixing bowl, mash black beans with a fork until mostly pureed but still some half beans and bean parts are left. 4. Stir in condiments and spices until well combined. Then mix in oats. 5. Divide into 4 equal portions and shape into thin patties. 6. Bake for 7 minutes, carefully flip over and bake for another 7 minutes, or until crispy on the outside.
spicy-chili-burgers-vegan-28
We LOVE trying new recipes, send us over your favorite and we will give it a taste!
Xoxo,
Whitney & Andrea
Leave a Reply

