What to wear when you have nothing to wear

It seems like at least once every few weeks I find myself standing in my closet, flipping through clothes and thinking “I have nothing to wear!” Even though I have plenty of clothes hanging up, or in piles on the floor, or thrown about my room, I can’t seem to pull together an outfit for the day. Sound familiar? Thought so.

I’m a big fan of avoiding wearing the exact same outfit twice but I don’t have an exponential budget for new clothes. So I’ve learned to get a little creative with the clothes I do have. Need some ideas for what to wear when you have nothing to wear? Check out these 5 outfit ideas that involve pairing things you may have never thought could go together. I bet you have most of them in your closet already! 

Photos by Anthony Bueno

1. Sweatshirt Glam

I looove to lounge in plain comfy sweatshirts but hardly ever wear them when I go out of the house. I decided to add some bling and nicer element to a plain gray sweatshirt and came up with a fun look! You can dress up any sweatshirt with a little sparkle and a fun hat!

Dress up a sweatshirt

Dress up a sweatshirt

Dress up a sweatshirt

Dress up a sweatshirt

 2.  Throw a t-shirt over a maxi dress

I absolutely love maxi dresses but in the spring and summer, I wear them far too often. I need a way to switch up the look. I’ll occasionally pair mine with a graphic tee and a blazer and bam! New outfit created. Wear your favorite gladiator sandals or flats and you are good to go with a brand new look!

Maxi dress outfit

Maxi dress outfit

Maxi dress outfit

Maxi dress outfit

3. Add a pop of color to a monochromatic outfit.

If you’re like me, gray, black, and white are your go-to colors. Sometimes I only get as creative as mixing around which monochromatic pieces I pair together and that is a-ok! Next time you’re rocking your go to shades of gray, try adding 1 or 2 pops of color to change it up. Not only will you have a whole new outfit, but you’ll really get noticed for adding that “pop!”

4.  Romper + Shorts

Rompers are another thing I feel like I wear too often and it’s hard to switch up the look of a romper. I’ve started pairing mine with some high-waisted jeans so they look like a tucked in t-shirt. Another way to create a whole new outfit by pairing two unlikely things together.

White lace and high waisted shorts

White lace and high waisted shorts

White lace and high waisted shorts

White lace and high waisted shorts

5. Dress up some plaid.

Plaid too often gets categorized as casual, hipster or even grungy. I say, dress it up! Pair your favorite plaid with a high-waisted pencil skirt and button it up! You can add some fun jewelry to spruce it up even more.

6. Add a hair accessory

If there’s an outfit that you love and find yourself wearing over and over, jazz it up with a fun hair accessory. A turban headband, bandana, scarf, flower crown..whatever you’ve got! It will mix up the outfit a bit and have you feeling fresh!

Hair accessories

Hair accessories

_DSC4683

Get creative with your closet and let us know what you come up with! Always looking for new ideas when there’s nothing to wear!

Xoxo,

Whitney & Andrea

Photos by Anthony Bueno

 

Leave a Reply

